Absent from the chapel

You didn’t see me in the chapel

That’s because I wasn’t there

I thought it wasn’t worth the hassle

And the crowds too much to bear

 

They say it’s such a lovely chapel

Dating back to Norman days

But I was much too tired to travel

And it’s such a long, long way

 

I thought and I thought,  but I couldn’t see

How being there would mean that much to me

 

So I wasn’t in the chapel

Watching someone getting hitched

I know it sounds a trifle peevish

But I don’t think I was missed

 

I felt kind of bad, was weighed down by guilt

But wedding cake and champagne make me ill

 

No more standing in the chapel

Hoping that my day will come

I can’t take another wedding

So forgive me, everyone

Original by Artie Glenn

The Spideron values your opinion

