Harry Secombe

Sir Harry Secombe (1921-2001)

Sir Harry Secombe (1921-2001)

Do do doo

Oh oh oh oh

Do do do do do doo do do do do do doo

 

Every day I switch on my old TV

Hoping something will appeal to me

All these cookery and talent shows won’t keep me tuning in

Sick of Simon Cowell and Alan Sugar

Give me something that is ten times better

A higher quality of prime-time light entertainment

 

Oh, I wish that they’d show something

Just this once that’s worth watching

‘Cos maybe TV would have a golden age

Once again if they could bring in

Someone good

 

I miss Harry Secombe

Highway was my favourite show

Sunday evenings aren’t the same now

Why’d the old man have to go?

I miss Harry Secombe

I miss Bob Monkhouse even more

 

Do do doo

Whoa oh yeah

Do do do do do doo do do do do do doo

 

He would stroll along the hills and valleys

Singing hymns and making people happy

Stroking lambs and telling harmless jokes

That we’d all understand

People say that I’m a fool to hope they’ll bring him back from the dead

Bet you some day they’ll prove ’em wrong with a singing hologram

 

Oh, I wish that they’d show something

Just this once that’s worth watching

‘Cos maybe TV would have a golden age

Once again if they could bring in

Someone good. Oh!

 

I miss Harry Secombe

Highway was my favourite show

Sunday evenings aren’t the same now

Why’d the old man have to go?

I miss Harry Secombe

I miss Bob Monkhouse even more

 

Do do doo

Whoa oh yeah

Do do do do do doo do do do do do doo

 

Harry Secombe was so lovely

Do do do do do do doo (x4)

And Bob Monkhouse was so funny

 

But they’ll never resurrect him

Thanks to Operation Yewtree

All those rich old men have been thrown in jail

‘Cos the papers said they’re guilty

Never mind. Oh!

 

I miss Harry Secombe

Highway was my favourite show

Sunday evenings aren’t the same now

Why’s the old man have to go?

I miss Harry’s singing

And that Monkhouse perma-tan

Harry was once in The Goon Show

Monkhouse was a charming man

 

I miss Harry (x8)

And Bob Monkhouse too

Bob Monkhouse (1928-2003)

Bob Monkhouse (1928-2003)

Original by G. Michael

The Spideron values your opinion

