Toast & Porridge

Toast and porridge, toast and porridge

That’s the only food I’ve got in storage

Can’t afford no bacon

It’s plain old grub that I am makin’

Toast and porridge, toast and porridge

Eaten everywhere, from Crewe to Norwich

It’s a rather dull meal

I’d much prefer a nice Savoy grill

 

Try, try, try to brew some coffee

Kettle’s got limescale

Why must I get up so early?

It’s a hectic timescale

 

Toast and porridge, toast and porridge

Might be quicker if I made a sandwich

Why can’t I have pancakes?

The kind my aunt, my favourite aunt

The kind my lovely Auntie Fran makes

 

Try, try, try to brew some coffee

Kettle’s got limescale

Why must I get up so early?

It’s a hectic timescale

 

Toast and porridge, toast and porridge

Come to think of it, it tastes quite horrid

Why can’t I have pancakes?

The kind my aunt, my favourite aunt

The kind my lovely Auntie Fran makes

 

Original by Sammy Cahn/Jimmy van Heusen

The Spideron values your opinion

