A song about Downton Abbey

Bored on a Sunday and with nothing to do, I switched on ITV

Downton

Need a distraction ‘cos my weekend is through, so what am I to see?

Downton

A lot of major drama and some really fancy costumes

A lovely rural setting and, of course, a catchy theme tune

What more could you want?

I hear the Yanks love this stuff

Because it’s so very English

They can’t get enough of this

*

Downton

The acting is bona fide

Downton

There are no monks inside

Downton

You know the ratings are good

*

From the Titanic to the Black Bottom Stomp

They haven’t aged one day

Downton

They all look sensational, I wish I could say the same

I’ll watch anyway

Downton

With lots of Northern accents and some oh-so-proper diction

The stories are improbable, but that’s OK – it’s fiction

We’re still tuning in

I don’t think it’s the best show

I thought that Poldark was better

But what do I know? This is

*

Downton

Much better marketed

Downton

Look what the critics said

Downton

They gave it nine out of ten

*

There isn’t any nudity, so go and tell your mother

There’s nothing on the BBC, it’s just not worth the bother

So let’s all tune in

You’ll love Bates and Mrs. Hughes and the historical clichés

There’s so much to choose from it’s

*

Downton

Earned international fame

Downton

Brideshead was much the same

Downton

You know the ratings are good

Tune composed by Tony Hatch

The Spideron values your opinion

